Dante / Mazzei Awards Night

The 2017 Dante/Mazzei Awards – Thursday, May 18, 2017 at Galleria Marchetti.

Each year, the Human Relations Committee presents the coveted Dante Award to a member of the local news media who has answered Dante Alighieri’s call to be “no timid friend to truth.” Past recipients have been Irv Kupcinet, John Madigan, Hugh Hill, Dick Kay, Joan Esposito, Walter Jacobson, Mark Giangreco, Emily Barr, Larry Wert, Allison Rosati, Joe Ahern, Merri Dee, Dominic Mancuso, Frank Mathie, Vince Gerasole, Ron Magers, Janet Davies, Greg Caputo, Neil Stienberg, Linda Yu, Stella Foster, Tom McNamee and Bruce Dold.

In addition the Filippo Mazzei Public Affairs award is also awarded.

The Mazzei Award is given annually to a person who shows extraordinary skills in the world of public affairs. In the late 1770’s Italian immigrant Mazzei’s friend and neighbor Thomas Jefferson, gave the founding father this line:

“Tutti gli uomini sono per natura egualmente liberi e indipendenti. Quest’eguaglianza è necessaria per costituire un governo libero. Bisogna che ognuno sia uguale all’altro nel diritto naturale.”

Translated by a friend and neighbor of Mazzei, it was published as follows:

“All men are by nature equally free and independent. Such equality is necessary in order to create a free government. All men must be equal to each other in natural law.”

The 2017 Dante/Mazzei Awards will be held Thursday, May 18, 2017 at Galleria Marchetti.

The inaugural recipient in 2014 was Thom Serafin, CEO and President of Chicago public affairs firm Serafin & Associates. Last year’s recipient was U.S. Senator Mark Kirk.

The 2016 recipient of the Dante Award was Jennifer Graves, vice president and news director of ABC7. Lissa Druss Christman, public affairs and crisis communications specialist of Serafin & Associates was the Mazzei recipient.

This event is attended by over 250 representatives of the Italian American community and an impressive cross section of prominent Chicago media.

Dominic DiFrisco is the Chairman.